2015 Camps

Men's Squash Advances To Hoehn Cup Semifinal With 8-1 Win Over Bates

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 02/14/2014
Print RSS
Article Image
Ben Leizman recorded a 3-0 win at the No. 9 spot against Bates College.
Courtesy: Beverly Schaefer
The Princeton men’s squash team took care of business in its opening match of the Hoehn Cup competition Friday morning in Boston during the CSA Team Championships. The Tigers swept each of the first two shifts to clinch a place in the semifinals against the winner of the Dartmouth-Navy match, which was scheduled for later in the day.

A sweep from the trio of Dylan Ward (No. 3), Michael LeBlanc (6) and Ben Leizman (9) laid the foundation for a strong Princeton performance. The Tigers all but ended Bates’ hopes for an upset with a quick 3-0 lead, and the trio of Tyler Osborne (2), Taylor Tutrone (5) and Ash Egan (8) clinched the outright victory with a sweep of the second shift.

The third shift provided the most drama, as all three matches went to a fifth game. Both David Hoffman (4) and Sam Ezratty (7) had to overcome lost fourth games, but both came back with victories to close out 3-2 wins. Junior Samuel Kang tried to fight back from a deficit against Ahmed Abdel Khalek, but he ended up falling 3-2.

Princeton did not play Navy this season, but it did earn a 7-2 victory at Dartmouth in the middle of January. The Big Green played that match without its No. 1 player, Xander Greer, so many of the matchups could be different. The lone rematch, based on the lineups announced by both teams, would be at the No. 6 spot, where Mark Funk topped LeBlanc in three close games in the first meeting.

The semifinal will take place at 9 am on Courts 4 and 5, as well as the glass court at Harvard. The other semifinal will also take place at 9 am on Courts 1-3.

1. Ahmed Abdel Khalek (B) d. Samuel Kang 3-2
2. Tyler Osborne (P) d. Ahmed Hatata 3-0
3. Dylan Ward (P) d. Kristian Muldoon 3-0
4. David Hoffman (P) d. Darrius Campbell 3-2
5. Taylor Tutrone (P) d. Nabil Saleem 3-1
6. Michael LeBlanc (P) d. Caran Arora 3-1
7. Sam Ezratty (P) d. Andy Cannon 3-2
8. Ash Egan (P) d. Jason Shrubb 3-0
9. Ben Leizman (P) d. Carlos Ames 3-0







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future