2015 Camps
Article Image
Sophomore Cecilia Barowski won her heat to advance in the 800.
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Eight Tigers Advance After Day 1 of the NCAA East Regional

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 05/23/2013
Print RSS


GREENSBORO, N.C. (5/23/13) - Nine members of the Princeton track & field teams advanced in their respective events after Day 1 of the NCAA East Regional on Thursday, May 23 on the campus of North Carolina A&T.

Senior Austin Hollimon started the afternoon in the 400-meter hurdles. He finished second in heat 3 at 51.31, his best time this season. He advances to the quarterfinals tomorrow at 7:45 p.m.

Senior Greta Feldman looks to make another run at the 1500 national title, after placing fifth last year. Feldman was in sixth place 1100 meters into the race but a blistering 1:05.29 in the final 400 meters, the fastest split in the heat, she won the race at 4:19.27. That time is a season-best for Feldman. She will compete in the quarterfinals Saturday at 6:30 p.m. Senior Alexis Mikaelian finished ninth in heat 3 at 4:25.80 to wrap up her career.

Junior Tom Hopkins was fourth in heat 2 of the 400 at 46.63. He had the 19th best time in the prelims to advance to the quarterfinals tomorrow at 6:15 p.m.

Sophomore Cecilia Barowski smoked the final lap of the 800 to win heat 5. In eighth place after one lap she clocked a 1:02.64, the fastest split, to cruise to the front of the line and finish at 2:06.54. She will run in the quarterfinal tomorrow at 7 p.m. Junior Kacie O'Neil ran a PR of 2:07.06 to finish sixth in her heat. She just missed advancing with the 23rd best time overall. *

Senior Russell Dinkins and sophomore Bradley Paternostro went 2-3 in the final heat of the 800. Paternostro was in the lead after 400 meters with Dinkins right behind in second place. Dinkins 54.82 in the final lap pushed him into second place as he crossed the line at 1:49.50. Paternostro finished third at 1:49.79. Junior Michael Williams was seventh in heat 5 at 1:54.34 to end his season.

Senior Abby Levene finished 34th in the 10,000 at 35:56.25 to cap off her career.

Senior Michael Franklin and junior Chris Bendtsen went 4-5 in the 10,000 to punch the Tigers' first tickets to the NCAA Championships in Oregon. Franklin finished the race in 29:57.31 while Bendtsen ran 29:59.15. Juniors Alejandro Arroyo Yamin and Tyler Udland did not advance, as  Arroyo Yamin was 16th at 30:14.04 and Udland was 21st at 30:20.01.

On tap for tomorrow:
Julia Ratcliffe in the hammer throw at 10 a.m. (semifinal)
Tory Worthen in the pole vault at 5 p.m. (semifinal)
Tom Hopkins in the 400 at 6:15 p.m. (quarterfinal)
Cecilia Barowski in the 800 at 7 p.m. (quarterfinal)
Russell Dinkins & Bradley Paternostro in the 800 at 7:15 p.m. (quarterfinal)
Austin Hollimon in the 400 hurdles at 7:45 p.m. (quarterfinal)
Mel Newbery in the steeplechase at 8:50 p.m. (quarterfinal)
Conor Martin in the steeplechase at 9:30 p.m. (quarterfinal)

*Note: it was incorrectly reported that O'Neil had advanced because of an error in the NCAA Technical Manual. The manual reports that 27 advance (top 3 in each heat plus next 9 fastest) when in actuality 24 advance (top 3 plus next 6 fastest).







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future