2015 Camps

deButts and Pyle Named to Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 02/19/2012
Print RSS
Article Image
Cassie Pyle and Lindsey deButts
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. (2/19/12) -  Seniors Lindsey deButts and Cassie Pyle of the Princeton women's lacrosse team have been named to the 2012 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List, it was annnounced by The Tewaarton Award Foundation on Feb. 15.

The list is made up of the top lacrosse players across all three divisions and are the early hopefuls for the 2012 Tewaarton Trophy. The Watch List nominees are screened and selected by a committee of college coaches.

deButts has earned four All-America honors in her career. The defender has been named first-team all-region and first-team All-Ivy League twice in her career. A starter since her freshman season, deButts has 98 ground balls, 85 draw controls and 70 caused turnovers in her career. She has been in the top of those three categories since she donned the Orange and Black. Last year she finished second in the league in caused turnovers with 31, was third in the league in ground balls with 41 and was second on the team in draw controls with 24.

Like deButts, Pyle has been a starter since her freshman season. The midfielder picked up her 100th point in the NCAA Tournament last season. She has 70 career goals and 31 assist for 101 points. In addition she has 65 ground balls, 40 draw controls and 29 caused turnovers. In 2011, she led the TIgers in scoring with 38 goals and 19 assists for 57 points. Pyle was critical to the Tigers' end-of-season run, with nine points in the Ivy League Tournament, and six in two rounds of the NCAA Tournament. At the end of the year she was named first-team all-region and second-team All-Ivy League.

The Alexandria, Va., natives have taken Princeton to two NCAA Tournaments in 2009 and 2011. Both times the team reached the NCAA quarterfinals. The duo also helped the Tigers win the 2011 Ivy League Tournament.

In Princeton's women's lacrosse history it has had one Tewaarton Trophy winner, four finalists and have received more than 25 nominations and/or watch list selections. Rachael Becker was the Tewaarton winner in 2003 and was a finalist in 2002. Julie Shanner was a finalist in 2001, Theresa Sherry in 2004 and Lindsey Biles in 2005.

About the Tewaaraton
The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 by The University Club of Washington, DC and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is awarded annually to the NCAA male and female lacrosse players of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award event is set to recognize the Year of the Tuscarora.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future