• GoPrincetonTigers.Tv Princeton Store Tickets
  • Donate Live Events Live Stats
Football Fireworks C/S Day MM
Close Video

Cross Country Yearly Team Honors and Captains Announced

Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications                                                                      Release: 12/11/2012
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications
View larger
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

PRINCETON, N.J. (12/11/12) - The Princeton men's and women's cross country teams held its annual banquet on Thursday, Dec. 6 at Charter Club to celebrate its success from the 2012 season.

The Most Improved Runner Awards were presented to sophomore Emily de La Bruyere and senior Michael Franklin.

Maria Seykora and Sam Berger were honored with the Freshman Rosengarten Cross Country Trophy. It is presented awarded annually to that freshman member of the quad who in sportsmanship, improvement and performance has contributed most to the sport.

Senior Greta Feldman of the women's team and junior Chris Bendtsen of the men's squad were awarded the Varsity Rosengarten Cross Country Trophy. Awarded annually, it is given to that member of the team who in sportsmanship, improvement and performance has contributed most to the sport.

Captains for the 2012 season were also announced. Guiding the women's team will be de La Bruyere, while Bendtsen will remain at captain of the men's team and will be joined by classmate Alejandro Arroyo Yamin.

The men's team recorded the best NCAA finish in program history taking 11th at the NCAA Championships after receiving an at-large bid. The team won its third consecutive Heps title and sixth in the last seven years. Bendtsen and Arroyo Yamin went 1-2 and were named first-team All-Ivy League along with juniors Tyler Udland and Jonathan Vitez. Sophomores Eddie Owens and Matt McDonald received second-team honors. The Tigers finished third at the Mid-Atlantic Regional with Bendsten, Arroyo Yamin, Franklin and junior Tyler Udland earning All-Region honors.

The women's team rebounded from a disappointing 2011 Heps finish to runner-up in 2012. Feldman, senior Abby Levene and sophomore Jackie Nicholas all earned second-team All-Ivy honors. The Tigers went on to finish fourth at the Mid-Atlantic Regional with Feldman, de La Bruyere and Nicholas capturing All-Region honors. Feldman qualified individually for the NCAA Championships, keeping the Princeton streak of competing in the championship alive at 12 years.

2014-15 Home Meets
ETAPVCFriends Groups
Free VideosTiger BlogMore Headlines

TigerBlog , the official blog of Princeton Athletics.

Sept. 22, 2014 - Opening Thoughts
Tags: Football

Sept. 19, 2014 - Opening Out West
Tags: Football

Sept. 18, 2014 - 200, Or Is That 202?
Tags: general

Sept. 17, 2014 - Soccer Trumps Meth For A Night
Tags: Soccer

Sept. 16, 2014 - Boycotting At Bedford
Tags: Field Hockey

Sept. 18, 2014 TigerCast
Matt Costello and Garrit Leicht join the debut TigerCast of...
May 15, 2014 TigerCast
Rowers Will Gillis (heavyweights) and Ed Northrop (lightweights)...
May 8, 2014 TigerCast
Molly Higgins and Adam Bragg join TigerCast to discuss the...
Robert Wood Johnson
Hyatt Slider

PNC Bank
Sports Camps
Athlete of the Week
Presented by Coach USA
Sept. 15 - Lauren Lazo (Women's Soccer)
National Champions
Julia Ratcliffe Wins Title
Championship Streak Now 43
Princeton Sports Properties
Official Corporate Partners
Join the Princeton Corporate Partner Team
Sports Tickets
Proud Partner of Princeton Athletics
Buy and sell college and pro sports tickets
Email Updates
Don't Miss a Minute of the Action
Sign up to receive exclusive Princeton Tiger email updates