• GoPrincetonTigers.Tv Princeton Store Tickets
  • Donate Live Events Live Stats
Football Celebrates Ivy Title, HYP Sweep At Bonfire, Announces Team Awards
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications
Release: 11/25/2013
Co-captains Caraun Reid (left) and Phillip Bhaya light the bonfire to honor Princeton's sweep of Harvard and Yale this season.
View larger Courtesy: Beverly Schaefer

Co-captains Caraun Reid (left) and Phillip Bhaya light the bonfire to honor Princeton's sweep of Harvard and Yale this season.

Princeton celebrated its 2013 Ivy League championship, as well as its 26th "Big Three" title, Sunday during both its annual Donold B. Lourie '22 Football Banquet and its traditional bonfire on Cannon Green.

The bonfire drew a full crowd of students, staff and alumni on a frigid Sunday night. Among the speakers was President Christopher Eisgruber, who commended the team for bringing "home an Ivy League championship to this campus, where it belongs."

"I want you to look out there at all these students and alumni and faculty and staff and University and town coming together because of what you did," Eisgruber said. "Thank you for beating Harvard. Thank you for beating Yale. Thank you for letting us light this bonfire tonight."

Head coach Bob Surace, a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award for FCS Head Coach of the Year, thanked the community for its support, and captains from both the 2012 (Andrew Starks) and 2013 (Caraun Reid and Phillip Bhaya) spoke before the lighting took place.

Prior to the bonfire, the Princeton Football Association held The Donold B. Lourie '22 Football Banquet Sunday afternoon and handed out the following members of the 2013 football team:

The Donold B. Lourie Award - Awarded annually to that freshman offensive player who, by his ability, conduct and attitude, has most clearly demonstrated in the best Princeton tradition the qualities of leadership and the spirit of amateur athletics.

2013 winner: Chad Kanoff

Harland "Pink" Baker '22 Award - Established in 1981 by the Friends of Princeton Football in honor of Harland "Pink" Baker '22, varsity letterman on the "Team of Destiny" and longtime friend of Princeton football players. Awarded annually to that freshman defensive player of good moral character who has proven himself an intelligent and stalwart player and who has demonstrated a cooperative spirit and an ability to motivate his teammates.

2013 winner: Dorian Williams

The Charles W. Caldwell Memorial Trophy - Awarded to that senior member of the varsity football squad who has shown the greatest improvement in football during his years at Princeton. In memory of Charles W. Caldwell '25, head coach of Princeton football from 1945-1957.

2013 winners: Matt Landry & Des Smith

The Class of '52 Football Award - Established in 1988 by the Class of 1952 as a mark of their love, devotion and service. Awarded annually to that member of the football team who has excelled on special teams play, exemplifying pride, hustle and determination.

2013 winner: Max Coale

The Ronald A. Rogerson Award - Awarded annually to that member of the football team whose spirit and love of the game have served as a special inspiration to his fellow players. In memory of Ronald A. Rogerson, head coach from 1985-1988.

2013 winner: Jason Ray

The Dr. Harry Roemer McPhee Award - Awarded annually to a member of the football squad who has determined the qualities of durability and fortitude.

2013 winners: Joe Goss & Greg Sotereanos

The Henry T. "Hank" Towns h82 Award - Awarded annually to that senior football player who has actively mentored younger athletes, demonstrated great devotion to Princeton and made contributions to the community at large to bring honor to Princeton football.

2013 winner: Caraun Reid

The Richard W. Colman Scholar-Athlete Award - Awarded annually to that senior member of the football team who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship, athletic skill, team contribution and sportsmanship. In memory of Dick Colman, head football coach from 1957-1968.

2013 winner: Phillip Bhaya

The John P. Poe - Richard W. Kazmaier, Jr. Football Trophy - Awarded to that member of the Princeton football team of good moral character who, during the season in addition to proving himself a player of ability, has best exemplified the following traits and characteristics: loyalty and devotion to Princeton's football interests, courage, manliness, self-control and modesty, perseverance and determination under discouraging conditions, observance of the rules of the game and fairness towards opponents.

2013 winner: Roman Wilson

ETAPVCFriends Groups
Free VideosTiger BlogMore Headlines

TigerBlog , the official blog of Princeton Athletics.

Apr. 18, 2014 - 105 + 94 Does Not Equal 200
Tags: Lacrosse

Apr. 17, 2014 - A Week To Remember
Tags: Lacrosse, Tennis

Apr. 16, 2014 - Ford Family Director Of Athletics Mollie Marcoux
Tags: General

Apr. 15, 2014 - Flying High
Tags: Track and Field

Apr. 14, 2014 - From The House On Gordon Street
Tags: General
April 17, 2014 TigerCast
Dave Mackasey (heavyweight men) and Becky Kreutter (lightweight...
April 10, 2014 TigerCast
Juniors Lindsay Graff (women's tennis) and Casey Ward (men's...
April 3, 2014 TigerCast
Zach McCourt (men's tennis) and Angie Gould (open rowing) join...
FB_Information Central
Football Camp
Hyatt Slider

Sports Camps
PNC Bank
Tyco Community Spotlight
Athlete of the Week
Presented by Coach USA
April 14 - Ashleigh Johnson
National Champions
Field Hockey, DMR, Fencing, Stone Win National Titles
Championship Streak Now 42
London 2012
Princeton at the London Olympics
Tigers Claim Seven Medals
Sports Tickets
Proud Partner of Princeton Athletics
Buy and sell college and pro sports tickets
Email Updates
Don't Miss a Minute of the Action
Sign up to receive exclusive Princeton Tiger email updates