• GoPrincetonTigers.Tv Princeton Store Tickets
  • Donate Live Events Live Stats
ILDN Early Bird Promo
ILDN Early Bird Promo
Football Fireworks C/S Day MM
Mike Catapano Wins Top Honor At Donold B. Lourie '22 Football Banquet
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications
Release: 12/14/2011

Senior defensive lineman Mike Catapano, a 2011 second-team All-Ivy honoree, earned the prestigious John P. Poe/Richard W. Kazmaier Award at the season-ending Donold B. Lourie '22 Football Banquet.

Catapano is the first defensive lineman to win the top Princeton football honor since 2003, when All-Ivy first-teamers Tim Kirby and Joe Weiss shared the honor. Catapano recorded 54 tackles, including 10 for loss, and added five sacks. His sack total was fourth best in the Ivy League.

Among the other winners were longtime starters Tommy Wornham, Matt Allen and Steven Cody. Newcomers Chuck Dibilio and Khamal Brown earned the top freshman honors after growing into key starters on both sides of the ball.

All the award winners are listed below.

Princeton Football Association Team Award Winners

The Princeton Football Association held The Donold B. Lourie '22 Football Banquet recently and handed out the following members of the 2011 football team:

The Donold B. Lourie Award - Awarded annually to that freshman offensive player who, by his ability, conduct and attitude, has most clearly demonstrated in the best Princeton tradition the qualities of leadership and the spirit of amateur athletics.

2011 winner: Chuck Dibilio

Harland "Pink" Baker '22 Award - Established in 1981 by the Friends of Princeton Football in honor of Harland "Pink" Baker '22, varsity letterman on the "Team of Destiny" and longtime friend of Princeton football players. Awarded annually to that freshman defensive player of good moral character who has proven himself an intelligent and stalwart player and who has demonstrated a cooperative spirit and an ability to motivate his teammates.

2011 winner: Khamal Brown

The Charles W. Caldwell Memorial Trophy - Awarded to that senior member of the varsity football squad who has shown the greatest improvement in football during his years at Princeton. In memory of Charles W. Caldwell '25, head coach of Princeton football from 1945-1957.

2011 winner: Chance Cross

The Class of '52 Football Award - Established in 1988 by the Class of 1952 as a mark of their love, devotion and service. Awarded annually to that member of the football team who has excelled on special teams play, exemplifying pride, hustle and determination.

2011 winner: Ivan Charbonneau

The Ronald A. Rogerson Award - Awarded annually to that member of the football team whose spirit and love of the game have served as a special inspiration to his fellow players. In memory of Ronald A. Rogerson, head coach from 1985-1988.

2011 winner: Steven Cody

The Dr. Harry Roemer McPhee Award - Awarded annually to a member of the football squad who has determined the qualities of durability and fortitude.

2011 winner: Matt Allen

The Henry T. "Hank" Towns h82 Award - Awarded annually to that senior football player who has actively mentored younger athletes, demonstrated great devotion to Princeton and made contributions to the community at large to bring honor to Princeton football.

2011 winners: Cameron Browne and Andy Kaier

The Richard W. Colman Scholar-Athlete Award - Awarded annually to that senior member of the football team who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship, athletic skill, team contribution and sportsmanship. In memory of Dick Colman, head football coach from 1957-1968.

2011 winner: Tommy Wornham

The John P. Poe - Richard W. Kazmaier, Jr. Football Trophy - Awarded to that member of the Princeton football team of good moral character who, during the season in addition to proving himself a player of ability, has best exemplified the following traits and characteristics: loyalty and devotion to Princeton's football interests, courage, manliness, self-control and modesty, perseverance and determination under discouraging conditions, observance of the rules of the game and fairness towards opponents.

2011 winner: Mike Catapano

ETAPVCFriends Groups
Free VideosTiger BlogMore Headlines

TigerBlog , the official blog of Princeton Athletics.

Sept. 19, 2014 - Opening Out West
Tags: Football

Sept. 18, 2014 - 200, Or Is That 202?
Tags: general

Sept. 17, 2014 - Soccer Trumps Meth For A Night
Tags: Soccer

Sept. 16, 2014 - Boycotting At Bedford
Tags: Field Hockey

Sept. 15, 2014 - All-Access: Training Camp
Tags: Football

Sept. 18, 2014 TigerCast
Matt Costello and Garrit Leicht join the debut TigerCast of...
May 15, 2014 TigerCast
Rowers Will Gillis (heavyweights) and Ed Northrop (lightweights)...
May 8, 2014 TigerCast
Molly Higgins and Adam Bragg join TigerCast to discuss the...
FB_Information Central
Hyatt Slider

PNC Bank
Sports Camps
Athlete of the Week
Presented by Coach USA
Sept. 15 - Lauren Lazo (Women's Soccer)
National Champions
Julia Ratcliffe Wins Title
Championship Streak Now 43
Princeton Sports Properties
Official Corporate Partners
Join the Princeton Corporate Partner Team
Sports Tickets
Proud Partner of Princeton Athletics
Buy and sell college and pro sports tickets
Email Updates
Don't Miss a Minute of the Action
Sign up to receive exclusive Princeton Tiger email updates