2015 Camps

Men's Cross Country Set to Defend Title at Heps

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 10/24/2012
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Heps Info

Ivy League Heps Info

PRINCETON, N.J. (10/23/12) - The No. 23 ranked Princeton men's cross country team looks to defend the title on its home course when the Tigers host the 2012 Ivy League Heptagonal on Saturday, Oct. 27 at West Windsor Field.

The women's race starts at 11 a.m., followed by the men's race at 12 p.m.

The Tigers have won two consecutive Ivy League titles, and five of the last six years. Princeton lost two of its scorers from last year, including steeplechase national champion Donn Cabral.

Princeton's top runner this season is junior Alejandro Arroyo Yamin. He has been the first Tiger across the line in all three races he's run this season. Yamin was the 6th Tiger at Heps last year. Junior captain Chris Bendtsen has been Princeton's No. 2 or 3 this year. He captured second-team All-Ivy League honors last year for a 10th-place finish. Consistent scoring also comes from junior Tyler Udland, senior Michael Franklin, sophomore Matt McDonald, sophomore Eddie Owens and junior Jonathan Vitez. Udland placed seventh overall last year at Heps to earn first-team all-league honors, while McDonald was the final scorer, in 12th place to capture second-team honors. Franklin has scored third, fourth and fifth in his three races this year. Owens and Vitez have also been in the top-five for the Tigers this year.

The Tigers toughest challenger will be Columbia. The Lions are ranked No. 10 in the nation and were the team that disrupted Princeton's Heps streak in 2009, winning by one point. Columbia was second to the Tigers last year. Dartmouth, Brown, Cornell, Yale, Harvard and Penn followed.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future