• GoPrincetonTigers.Tv Princeton Store Tickets
  • Donate Live Events Live Stats
Close Video

Who, When, What … Your Guide To Following Tiger Rowing At The Olympics

Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications                                                                      Release: 07/27/2012
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications
Princeton's eight rowers will all open their Olympic competitions between July 28-30.
View larger
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

GoPrincetonTigers.com will provide profiles, video interviews and Q&As of each of its eight rowers headed to the London Olympics. See the schedule below:

Monday: Caroline Lind '06
Tuesday: Robin Prendes '11 l Lauren Wilkinson '11
Wednesday: Sara Hendershot '10 l Sam Loch '06
Thursday: Glenn Ochal '08 l Gevvie Stone '07
Friday: Andréanne Morin '06 l Daily Olympic Schedule

Not that this should be shocking news to anybody, but there is a lot going on in London over the next two weeks.

So if you want to follow your favorite Princeton rowers, you need a plan.

We’re here to help.

GoPrincetonTigers.com will give daily updates on who is competing, or who just competed, but for those who want to plan their early wake-ups around specific races, here is what you need to know.
NBCOlympics.com has promised people the ability to watch all events live “with a cable, satellite or telco TV subscription that includes MSNBC and CNBC,” so you will need to check your local listings. You may need to sign up online, and there is also a mobile app “London 2012 Live Extra” that is free to download.

You can follow the athletes’ Twitter feeds, which are listed in each rower's feature (links above), as well as the Princeton rowing and the Princeton athletics ones. The Ivy League is using the hashtag #LondonIvies for their own coverage.

As for the schedules, they go like this:

Women’s Eight (Lind, Morin, Wilkinson): Heats are July 29 at 11:50 am London time, 6:50 am EDT. Repechage is July 31 at 5:50 am EDT. Final is August 2 at 7:30 am EDT.

Lind will be in the first heat on July 29, racing in Lane 3 (Germany, Great Britain, U.S.A., Australia), while Morin and Wilkinson will be in Lane 3 of the second heat (Netherlands, Romania, Canada). The winner in each heat go straight to the gold medal final on Aug. 2, while the rest will go to the repechage.

Men’s Eight (Loch): Heats are July 28 at 10:10 am London time, 5:10 am EDT. Repechage is July 30 at 4:50 am EDT. Final is August 1 at 5:30 am EDT.

Loch, coached by former Princeton heavyweight coach Curtis Jordan, will be in the first lane of the first heat (Australia, U.S.A., Ukraine, Poland). The winner will advance to the gold medal final on Aug. 1, the rest will go to the repechage.

Women’s Single (Stone): Heats are July 28 at 1:30 pm London time, 8:30 am EDT. Repechage is July 29 at 5:20 am EDT. Quarterfinals are July 31 at 6:40 am EDT. Semifinals are August 2 at 4:30 EDT. Final is August 4 at 4:30 am EDT.

Stone will row in the fourth lane of the fifth heat (Russian Federation, Algeria, Belarus, U.S.A., Mexico). There are 28 singles entrants in the event, so the top four of the heat reach the July 31 quarterfinals. Top three of each quarterfinal goes to the semifinal, and top three of each semifinal goes to the Aug. 4 gold medal final.

Women's Pair (Hendershot): Heats are July 28 at 9:30 am London time, 4:30 am EDT. Repechage is July 30 at 4:30 am EDT. Final is Aug 1 at 5:10 am EDT.

Hendershot opens competition in the fourth lane of the first heat (Romania, Argentina, Germany, U.S.A., Great Britain). Top two advance to the final, the rest will go to the repechage.

Men’s Lightweight Four (Prendes): Heats are July 28 at 11 am London time, 6 am EDT. Repechage is July 29 at 4:40 am EDT. Semifinals are July 31 at 7:40 EDT. Final is August 2 at 5 am EDT.

Prendes opens competition in the fourth lane of the opening heat (South Africa, Denmark, Switzerland, U.S.A., Italy). The top three boats will go to the semifinals, while the rest will go to the repechage.

Men’s Four (Ochal): Heats are July 30 at 10:40 am London time, 5:40 am EDT. Repechage is July 31 at 5 am EDT. Semifinals are August 2 at 5:10 am EDT. Final is August 4 at 5:30 am EDT.

Ochal opens in the second lane of the third heat (Netherlands, U.S.A., Italy, Greece). The top three boats will go to the semifinals, while the rest will go to the repechage.

Back
ETAPVCFriends Groups
Free VideosTiger BlogMore Headlines

TigerBlog , the official blog of Princeton Athletics.

Aug. 27, 2014 - The Cynic vs. The Optimist
Tags: tennis, swimming, field hockey, football

Aug. 26, 2014 - Party At The Surace's
Tags: Football

Aug. 25, 2014 - Mo'ne Davis And Women's Athletics
Tags: General

Aug. 22, 2014 - Guest TigerBlog - Emily Benhcke's Thoughts On Shacks
Tags: Women's Soccer

Aug. 21, 2014 - A Night At Conte's
Tags: General

May 15, 2014 TigerCast
Rowers Will Gillis (heavyweights) and Ed Northrop (lightweights)...
May 8, 2014 TigerCast
Molly Higgins and Adam Bragg join TigerCast to discuss the...
May 1, 2014 TigerCast
Junior Erin McMunn joined the latest edition of TigerCast to...
Hyatt Slider

PNC Bank
Sports Camps
   
   
Athlete of the Week
Presented by Coach USA
Returns Sept. 8
National Champions
Julia Ratcliffe Wins Title
Championship Streak Now 43
Princeton Sports Properties
Official Corporate Partners
Join the Princeton Corporate Partner Team
Sports Tickets
Proud Partner of Princeton Athletics
Buy and sell college and pro sports tickets
Email Updates
Don't Miss a Minute of the Action
Sign up to receive exclusive Princeton Tiger email updates