• GoPrincetonTigers.Tv Princeton Store Tickets
  • Donate Live Events Live Stats
Close Video

Facts & Figures About Princeton Women's Volleyball

Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications                                                                      Release: 08/20/2013
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications
Melissa Ford is Princeton's all-time leader in assists.
View larger
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Ivy League Championships (14): 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2004, 2007

Ivy League Player of the Year (4): Kristi Hakman (1990), Kristin Spataro (1995), Sabrina King (1999), Parker Henritze (2007)

Ivy League Rookie of the Year (4): Melanie Hunter (1991), Ayesha Attoh (1994), Michelle Buffum (1999), Kellie Cramm (2000), Parker Henritze (2005)

•  Volleyball attained full varsity status in 1977 after a three-year apprenticeship as a club sport. Susana Occhi, who had coached the team while as a club program before 1977, guided the team to a victory over Kean College in its first official match (Sept. 28, 1977).

•  The Ivy League championship was determined by a tournament held at the end of the season until double-round-robin play began in 2001. Round-robin league play did not begin until 1987, though the tournament still determined the champion through the 2000 season.

•  Princeton teams won seven of the first 11 Ivy volleyball championships. The Tigers advanced to the Ivy League championship match every year from 1978 to 1987.

•  The Princeton volleyball team was invited to postseason play, the EAIAW Tournament, four of its first five years as a varsity sport. In 1983, the Tigers hosted and won the ECAC Tournament.

•  The 1984 team won 33 matches, which was a University record for most team wins in a season at that time.

•  Kristi Hakman ’92 and Ayesha Attoh ’98 are two of only five players to achieve first-team All-Ivy honors four times since All-Ivy selections began in 1978.  Of the 17 players to make the first team three times, six were Tigers: Janet Miller ’83 (1980-82), Michelle Williams ’84 (1981-83), Cindy Kendall ’86 (1983-85), Parker Henritze ’08 (2006-08), Lindsey Ensign ’08 (2006-08) and Lydia Rudnick (2010-12).

•   The 1994 team went 7-0 in Ivy League play and won the league championship by virtue of its first-place finish at the Ivy League tournament. The team made its first appearance in the NCAA tournament that year, falling to UC Santa Barbara 3-0 in the first round. Since then, Princeton has played in four more NCAA tournament matches, though it has yet to win one. The Tigers won their first individual set in 2007, but fell 3-1 to Delaware.

• Glenn Nelson became Princeton’s all-time winningest coach on Nov. 9, 2007, when he led Princeton to a 3-0 win at Brown. That was his 560th win, eclipsing the previous record of 559 victories by longtime softball coach Cindy Cohen. Princeton also clinched its 14th Ivy League title that night and would go on to become the first Ivy team to win the league with a 14-0 record. He retired after the 2008 season with 580 victories.

• Parker Henritze became Princeton’s first player to ever win Rookie of the Year honors (2005) and Player of the Year honors (2007) in the same career.

• Kristin Spataro was named Ivy League Tournament MVP twice (1994, 1995). Other Princetonians to win the honor were Stephanie Edwards (1997) and Sabrina King (1999). The award was first handed out in 1991.


ETAPVCFriends Groups
Free VideosTiger BlogMore Headlines

TigerBlog , the official blog of Princeton Athletics.

Aug. 20, 2014 - Well Written
Tags: General

Aug. 19, 2014 - The Resurgence Of Chris Young
Tags: Baseball

Aug. 18, 2014 - Friends, Old And New
Tags: General

Aug. 15, 2014 - Falling Forward
Tags: General

Aug. 14, 2014 - House Of Cards
Tags: General

May 15, 2014 TigerCast
Rowers Will Gillis (heavyweights) and Ed Northrop (lightweights)...
May 8, 2014 TigerCast
Molly Higgins and Adam Bragg join TigerCast to discuss the...
May 1, 2014 TigerCast
Junior Erin McMunn joined the latest edition of TigerCast to...
Prin WVolleyball Facebook
Robert Wood Johnson
Hyatt Slider

Sports Camps
PNC Bank
Athlete of the Week
Presented by Coach USA
Returns Sept. 8
National Champions
Julia Ratcliffe Wins Title
Championship Streak Now 43
Princeton Sports Properties
Official Corporate Partners
Join the Princeton Corporate Partner Team
Sports Tickets
Proud Partner of Princeton Athletics
Buy and sell college and pro sports tickets
Email Updates
Don't Miss a Minute of the Action
Sign up to receive exclusive Princeton Tiger email updates