• GoPrincetonTigers.Tv Princeton Store Tickets
  • Donate Live Events Live Stats
Football Fireworks C/S Day MM
Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) History: Men's Lightweight
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 07/13/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

The men's lightweights have competed for the national championship at the Intercollegiate Rowing Association regatta since 1990. From 1986-1989, there was a separate national championship regatta for the men's lightweights.

When nationals were moved to the IRAs, the crews competed for The 1922 Trophy, which commemorates the origin of men's collegiate lightweight rowing in 1922 and is presented to the winner of the men's lightweight varsity eight grand final.

Year National Champion Prin V8 Finish
1986 Princeton  
1987 Yale  
1988 Princeton  
1989 Princeton  
  1922 Trophy Champion  
1990 Yale  
1991 Harvard  
1992 Cornell  
1993 Harvard  
1994 Princeton  
1995 Harvard  
1996 Princeton 1st
1997 Harvard 3rd
1998 Princeton 1st
1999 Harvard 6th
2000 Yale 2nd
2001 Harvard 7th
2002 Yale 3rd
2003 Harvard 5th
2004 Navy 3rd
2005 Yale n/a
2006 Cornell 3rd
2007 Cornell 7th
2008 Cornell 4th
2009 Princeton 1st
2010 Princeton 1st
2011 Yale 5th
2012 Harvard 6th
2013 Harvard 6th
2014 Cornell 5th
Athlete of the Week
Presented by Coach USA
Returns Sept. 8
National Champions
Julia Ratcliffe Wins Title
Championship Streak Now 43
Princeton Sports Properties
Official Corporate Partners
Join the Princeton Corporate Partner Team
Sports Tickets
Proud Partner of Princeton Athletics
Buy and sell college and pro sports tickets
Email Updates
Don't Miss a Minute of the Action
Sign up to receive exclusive Princeton Tiger email updates