2015 Camps
Article Image
Alec Keller, 2014 Ivy League Player of the Year
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Keller Named Ivy League Player of the Year; Fagan Is Also First-Team

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 05/16/2014
Print RSS

Alec Keller is ending his career in some pretty elite company in Princeton baseball history.

Keller, a senior from Richmond, was named the 2014 Ivy League baseball Player of the Year while also being named first-team All-Ivy League. The team was selected in a vote of the league's eight head coaches.

In addition to Keller, Princeton was also represented on the first team by senior pitcher Michael Fagan. Freshman first baseman Zack Belski was named an honorable mention selection.

Keller becomes the second Princeton player ever to be named Ivy League Player of the Year - and the second in two years, after Mike Ford won the honor in 2013. Keller is also the first three-time first-team All-Ivy League selection Princeton has had since Ivy League baseball began in 1993 and the third three-team all-league selection, after Bob Schiffner '71 and Dan Arendas '86 did so in the Eastern Intercollegiate Baseball League.

Keller led Princeton with a .327 batting average and with four triples, and he was second in RBIs, home runs and doubles. His .545 slugging percentage was third in the league.

Fagan went 4-2 with a 2.33 ERA as the ace of the Tiger staff. Fagan struck out 77 and walked 18 while allowing 46 hits in 58 innings pitched, and opponents hit just .212 against him.

His 50 strikeouts in Ivy League games led the league and were 17 more than the next-best total.

Belski hit .280 with three doubles, a home run and 19 RBis, which tied Keller for second on the team.

Alec Keller, Princeton (Sr., UTL – Richmond, Va.)
David Speer, Columbia (Sr., LHP – Westport, Conn.)*
Will Savage, Columbia (Fr., 2B – Bronx, N.Y.)
P – Connor Cuff, Penn (Jr. – Western Springs, Ill.)
P – Mike Fagan, Princeton (Sr. – San Diego)
P – David Speer, Columbia (Sr. – Westport, Conn.)*
RP – Duncan Robinson, Dartmouth (So. – Houston)
C – Austin Bossart, Penn (Jr. – O’Fallon, Ill.)
1B – Dustin Selzer, Dartmouth (Sr. – Houston)
2B – Will Savage, Columbia (Fr. – Bronx, N.Y.)
SS – Cale Hanson, Yale (Sr. – Katy, Texas)
SS – Ryan Mincher, Penn (So. – Glenshaw, Pa.)
3B – David Vandercook, Columbia (Jr. – Boca Raton, Fla.)
OF – Rick Brebner, Penn (Sr. – Langhorne, Pa.)
OF – Gus Craig, Columbia (Jr. – Eugene, Ore.)
OF – Mike Martin, Harvard (Jr. – Buffalo Grove, Ill.)
UTL – Alec Keller, Princeton (Sr. – Richmond, Va.)
DH – Ryan Karl, Cornell (Jr. – Towaco, N.J.)*
P – Michael Byrne, Cornell (So. – Vienna, Va.)
P – Chris Lanham, Yale (So. – Houston)
P – George Thanopoulos, Columbia (So. – Highland, Calif.)
RP – Cale Hanson, Yale (Sr. – Katy, Texas)
C – Mike Fischer, Columbia (Sr. – Scotia, N.Y.)
1B – Jeff McGarry, Penn (Jr. – Mount Laurel, N.J.)
2B – Mike Vilardo, Penn (So. – Cary, Ill.)
SS – Aaron Silbar, Columbia (Sr. – Jacksonville, Fla.)
3B – Nick Lombardi, Dartmouth (Jr. – Saugus, Calif.)
OF – Jeff Keller, Dartmouth (Sr. – Atherton, Calif.)
OF – Rob Paller, Columbia (So. – Brooklyn, N.Y.)
OF – Jordan Serena, Columbia (Jr. – Parker, Colo.)
UTL – Carlton Bailey, Harvard (Sr. – Texarkana, Texas)
UTL – Richard Slenker, Yale (Fr. – Pound Ridge, N.J.)
DH – Joe Purritano, Dartmouth (So. – Woodcliff Lake, N.J.)
P – Jake Cousins, Penn (Fr. – West Chicago, Ill.)
P – Ronnie Glenn, Penn (Jr. – Lake Worth, Fla.)
P – Brent Jones, Cornell (Jr. – Albuquerque, N.M.)
P – Kevin Roy, Columbia (So. – Houston)
RP – Adam Cline, Columbia (So. – Redmond, Wash.)
RP – Chris Moates, Yale (So. – Smithville, Ga.)
C – Robert Baldwin, Yale (Jr. – Austin, Texas)
1B – Zack Belski, Princeton (Fr. – Missouri City, Texas)
1B – Ryan Plantier, Cornell (Sr. – Poway, Calif.)
2B – Kyle Larrow, Harvard (Sr. – Carver, Mass.)
2B – Thomas Roulis, Dartmouth (Jr. – New Hyde Park, N.Y.)
SS – Tom D’Alessandro, Cornell (Sr. – Dix Hills, N.Y.)
SS – Matt Parisi, Dartmouth (Jr. – Clermont, Fla.)
OF – Chris Cruz, Cornell (Sr. – Bay Shore, N.Y.)
OF – Brandon Engelhardt, Penn (Sr. – Pottstown, Pa.)
OF – Daniel Massey, Brown (Sr. – Greensboro, N.C.)
OF – Nick Ruppert, Dartmouth (So. – La Mesa, Calif.)
OF – Jordan Winawer, Cornell (So. – Mountain View, Calif.)
*-Unanimous selection
^-Expanded due to ties in the voting











Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future