2015 Camps
W. Swimming & Diving Coaching Staff
Greg Gunn
Diving Coach

Veteran diving coach Greg Gunn will enter his 30th season at Princeton when he looks to help both the Princeton men and women to a repeat of their 2015-16 Ivy League championships. He has coached 30 individual Ivy League diving champions during his Princeton career.

His divers played key roles in both 2015 championship performances. On the women's side, Caitlin Chambers was named the Ivy Championships Diver of the Meet after sweeping both the 1- and 3-meter boards. She was undefeated during the Ivy League season, and she made her debut at the NCAA Championships in all three events.

On the men's side, Gunn placed three divers in the 'A' finals during the 1-meter competition Thursday, which helped set the tone for a wire-to-wire victory for the home squad.

In 2011, he helped a pair of underclassmen earn Ivy League Championship Diver of the Meet honors. The women swept both diving events, with Carolyn Littlefield winning the 3-meter event and Rachel Zambrowicz winning the 1-meter competition. Zambrowicz earned Diver of the Meet honors, while Littlefield took home Career High Point Diver honors. Zambrowicz won the Career High Point Diver honor her senior season as well.

One week later, in a championship event where every point proved crucial, sophomore Stevie Vines earned Diver of the Meet honors by winning the 3-meter event and placing second in the 1-meter event. His effort on the 1-meter board gave Princeton breathing room heading into the final event of the weekend; Princeton ultimately held on by an unprecedented low total of 5.5 points. In four Ivy League championship events, Vines has not finished below second place.

In 2007, his squad picked up both an Ivy League Championship Diver of the Meet award and an All-America honor. On the women’s side, Katie Giarra set an Ivy League record with 307 points on the 1-meter board at the league championships, and she followed it up by winning the 3-meter competition to clinch Diver of the Meet honors. Combining the two events, Princeton had seven of the top 16 scorers, including Michelle DeMond. A senior, she would go on to earn All-America honors at the NCAA Championships in the platform competition.

The men were led by Michael Papageorge and Stuart Malcolm, both of whom will return in 2007-08. Papageorge finished second in both the 1- and 3-meter competitions, while Malcolm made both championship finals.

The results were similar in 2006, when Princeton also swept both the men’s and women’s league championships. The women had nine of the 20 top scoring divers in both the 1- and 3-meter competitions, while the men had had five. One of the top men’s scorers was Kent DeMond, who went on to earn All-America honors in the platform competition.

In 2001-02, the Tiger diving team had three of its members, seniors Danielle Stramandi and Katherine Mattison, as well as DeMond, qualify for the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. Stramandi earned her third straight All-America distinction while Michael Sullivan earned his second straight Academic All-America distinction. At the NCAA Zone Diving Championships, DeMond and Stramandi placed first in their platform events.

The previous season, senior Erin Lutz, along with Stramandi, represented Princeton at the NCAA championships. On the first day of competition, Lutz finished eighth, earning All-America honors on the 1-meter board. On the last day, Stramandi finished third on the platform, becoming the first Princeton diver in more than 25 years to medal at the NCAA championships.

During his tenure at Old Nassau, Gunn has trained nine All-Americas: Beth Bridgewater ’87, Andi Suess ’88, Lyle Suess ’91, Kenny Iams ’91, Lutz, Stramandi, Kent DeMond, Michelle DeMond, and Giarra.

Recently, the duo of Zambrowicz and Randi Brown shared the Class of 1916 Cup, given to the senior student-athlete with the highest GPA at the PVC Senior Banquet.

Gunn was coach of the Costa Rica diving team at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, where dual citizenship Princeton diver Daphne Hernandez ’02 competed in both the three-meter and platform events. He is active in both the NCAA and United States diving programs and has served as a member of the NCAA diving subcommittee and on the U.S. Diving Technical Advisory Council.

Gunn, a 1980 graduate of Cincinnati, was the first U.S. diving coach to receive the “WHOSAM” award. The award is given in honor of two-time Olympic gold medalist Dr. Sammy Lee to recognize overall success, good sportsmanship, dedication and commitment to the sport.


1991 Lyle Suess M 1-meter
1993 Sheryl Summerton W 3-meter
1994 Sheryl Summerton W 1-meter
1994 Sheryl Summerton W 3-meter
1995 Sheryl Summerton W 1-meter
1995 Sheryl Summerton W 3-meter
1996 Sheryl Summerton W 3-meter
1998 Danielle Stramandi W 1-meter
1998 Erin Lutz W 3-meter
1999 Erin Lutz W 3-meter
2000 Katherine Mattison W 1-meter
2000 Erin Lutz W 3-meter
2001 Erin Lutz W 3-meter
2002 Katherine Mattison W 1-meter
2002 Kent DeMond M 3-meter
2007 Katie Giarra W 1-meter
2007 Katie Giarra W 3-meter
2009 Katie Giarra W 1-meter
2009 Katie Giarra W 3-meter
2009 Daniel Dickerson M 1-meter
2009 Daniel Dickerson M 3-meter
2010 Stevie Vines M 1-meter
2011 Rachel Zambrowicz W 1-meter
2011 Carolyn Littlefield W 3-meter
2011 Stevie Vines M 3-meter
2012 Christina Kirkwood W 1-meter
2012 Stevie Vines M 3-meter
2014 Caitlin Chambers W 3-meter
2015 Caitlin Chambers W 1-meter
2015 Caitlin Chambers W 3-meter


Position: Diving Coach
Phone: (609) 258-2733
Email: glgunn@princeton.edu