• GoPrincetonTigers.Tv Princeton Store Tickets
  • Donate Live Events Live Stats
ILDN Early Bird Promo
ILDN Early Bird Promo
Football Fireworks C/S Day MM
Close Video

Men's Cross Country & Bendsten Wins Heps

Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications                                                                      Release: 10/27/2012
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications
Men's cross country wins its third consecutive Heps title
View larger
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

spacer   Article Audio/Video spacer
  Play Video   Watch
Chris Bendsten Post Heps Victory


PRINCETON, N.J. (10/27/12) - The Princeton men's cross country team is the 2012 Ivy League Heptagonal Champion! The Tigers won their third consecutive Heps title and have won six of the last seven.

Juniors Chris Bendtsen and Alejandro Arroyo Yamin went 1-2 to pull out the victory for first-year head coach Jason Vigilante. They become Princeton's second 1-2 tandem, joining Paul Morrison and Mike Spence who did it in 1999.

Team captain Bendtsen became the eighth Tiger in Princeton history to win the individual title. The last three times that a school has won both the team and individual titles belong to the Tigers. Michael Maag in 2007, Donn Cabral in 2010 and now Bendtsen in 2012. Princeton has won Heps a total of six times when having the top individual champion.

Bendsten ran 23:41.8 and Yamin 23:48.1. Not far behind was junior Tyler Udland who finished fourth at 23:51.3. Three places back was junior Jonathan Vitez, who ran 23:57.8 for seventh place. Rounding out the scorers was sophomore Eddie Owens in 12th at 24:06.6. Fellow sophomore Matt McDonald also huad a great showing finishing 14th at 23:13.0.

Bendtsen, Yamin, Udland and Vitez claim first-team All-Ivy League honors, while Owens and McDonald capture second-team honors.

Princeton will race for an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships in two weeks, when it competes at the NCAA Mid-Atlantic Regional at Penn State on Nov. 9.

Princeton Finishers
1. Chris Bendtsen 23:41.8
2. Alejandro Arroyo Yamin 23:48.1
4. Tyler Udland 23:51.3
7. Jonathan Vitez 23:57.8
12. Eddie Owens 24:06.6
14. Matt McDonald 24;13.0
50. Sam Pons 25:00.1
53. Max Kaulbach 25:03.1
58. Sam Berger 25:16.3
66. David Pugliese 25:23.8
78. Michael Sublette 25:44.6
ETAPVCFriends Groups
Free VideosTiger BlogMore Headlines

TigerBlog , the official blog of Princeton Athletics.

Sept. 17, 2014 - Soccer Trumps Meth For A Night
Tags: Soccer

Sept. 16, 2014 - Boycotting At Bedford
Tags: Field Hockey

Sept. 15, 2014 - All-Access: Training Camp
Tags: Football

Sept. 12, 2014 - @putigers_live
Tags: General

Sept. 11, 2014 - A Day To Remember
Tags: general

May 15, 2014 TigerCast
Rowers Will Gillis (heavyweights) and Ed Northrop (lightweights)...
May 8, 2014 TigerCast
Molly Higgins and Adam Bragg join TigerCast to discuss the...
May 1, 2014 TigerCast
Junior Erin McMunn joined the latest edition of TigerCast to...
US Soccer
Hyatt Slider

PNC Bank
Sports Camps
Athlete of the Week
Presented by Coach USA
Sept. 15 - Lauren Lazo (Women's Soccer)
National Champions
Julia Ratcliffe Wins Title
Championship Streak Now 43
Princeton Sports Properties
Official Corporate Partners
Join the Princeton Corporate Partner Team
Sports Tickets
Proud Partner of Princeton Athletics
Buy and sell college and pro sports tickets
Email Updates
Don't Miss a Minute of the Action
Sign up to receive exclusive Princeton Tiger email updates