2015 Camps
Article Image
The Class of 2014
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Princeton Men's Hockey Honors Seniors, Announces Captains at Annual Team Banquet

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 04/18/2014
Print RSS

The Princeton men's hockey team held its annual team banquet on Friday, April 18 at the Nassau Inn in Princeton. The 10 members of the Class of 2014, including Andrew Ammon, Jack Berger, Sean Bonar, Andrew Calof, Eric Carlson, Matt Farris, Will Ford, Jeremy Goodwin, Kevin Ross and Alec Rush were honored and five team awards were presented.

Senior captain Jack Berger won both the Vaughan Cup and the Tucker Ironman Award. The Vaughan Cup is awarded to the varsity player who best exemplifies perseverance and dedication to Princeton Hockey. The Tucker Ironman Award is presented to the member of the team who best exemplifies the Ironman spirit through his off-season preparation, commitment to conditioning and overall physical endurance. Berger played in all 32 games this season and finished with 10 points on five assists and five goals. He was a candidate for the Senior CLASS Awards and Princeton representative for the ECAC Hockey Student-Athlete of the Year honor. Berger has been instrumental as a leader on the ice and off, with a number of notable experiences within the community.

The Hobey Baker Trophy was shared between Colton Phinney and Ryan Siiro. The trophy is awarded annually to the team's freshman hockey player who, among his classmates, in play, sportsmanship and influence has contributed most to the sport, and has been handed out in each since 1950. Phinney played in net in 18 games this season and had a .901 save percentage. He stopped a career-high 45 saves against eventual national champion Union in January en route to being named the ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Week. On the other end of the ice, Siiro led the freshman class in scoring. He appeared in all 32 games and scored five goals and seven assists.

Taking home the Blackwell Trophy for the third consecutive season was senior Andrew Calof. The Blackwell Trophy is awarded to the member of the team who in play, sportsmanship and influence has contributed most to the sport. Despite missing 10 games this season because of an injury, Calof managed to earn his fourth scoring crown. In 21 games he scored 21 points on four goals and 17 helpers.

Assistant captain Andrew Ammon was the recipient of the 1941 Championship Trophy and was named as team captain for the 2013-14 season. It is presented annually to that varsity player who best reflected the winning spirit of the 1941 championship team and in so doing was an inspiration to his teammates. Ammon played through injury this season and captured first-team All-Ivy League honors. His committment earned him the A midway though the season. He finished as the team's leading scorer with 21 points with a team-high 11 goals and 10 assists. Ammon led the team in game-winning goals with three and was named the EAC Hockey Player of the Week on Feb. 18 after a tremendous five-point game at Yale - scoring twice and assisting on three goals.

Captains for the 2014-15 season were also announced. As voted on by their teammates it will be junior Tyler Maugeri assisted by junior Aaron Ave and sophomore Michael Ambrosia.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future