2015 Camps
Article Image
Seniors David Dubow, Mark Linnville, Max Gallin, Matt Sanner and William Booz.
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Men's Soccer Honors Class of 2013 and Presents Annual Awards

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 05/02/2013
Print RSS

PRINCETON, N.J. (5/2/13) - The Princeton men's soccer team held its annual team banquet on Sunday, April 28 at the Woodrow Wilson School's Robertson Hall.

Head Coach Jim Barlow opened the day followed by the senior speeches. William Booz, David Dubow, Max Gallin, Mark Linnville and Matt Sanner each spoke.

This year's senior class leaves Princeton's with winning records overall at 35-26- 8 and 16-8-4 in the Ivy League. The helped Princeton to its longest consecutive win streak of 12 games, its first undefeated Ivy League season, and two NCAA Appearances.

Following the speeches, the three annual awards were presented.

The Dr. William Trevor Trophy was awarded to junior Billy McGuinness. The award is presented to the member of the Princeton men's soccer team who has shown the greatest improvement in the quality of play and attitude during the season. McGuinness earned a starting role at right back this season. He played in 15 total games with 14 starts and was named to the Princeton Invitational All-Tournament Team for his terrific weekend effort. In all this season, McGuinness was part of the defense that allowed just 0.96 goals per game.

The Robert Myslik Award was presented to senior Matt Sanner. The Myslik Award is annually awarded to the member of the team who most demonstrates the passion for life, the fiery competitiveness, the unwavering honesty and the selfless generosity of Rob Myslik. Co-captain of this year's Tigers, Sanner was a first-team All-Ivy League selection. He played and started in all 16 games and finished second on the team in scoring with four goals and two assists for 10 points.

The Davis S. Hackett Memorial Cup was awarded to two players after a tie in voting, as the team itself votes on the winner of the Hackett Cup. Sharing the honors are seniors Mark Linnville andn David Dubow. Linnville is the just the eighth player in Ivy League history to be named first-team All-Ivy League all four years. A two-time team captain, Linnville started in every game during his career and capped off his senior year finishing third on the team in scoring with two goals and four assists for eight points. As the center back, Linnville helped to hold teams to 0.96 goals per game. Dubow, last year's winner of the Trevor Trophy, was injured for much of the season. He played in three games and started against Penn and Yale after having a starting role in 2011.


At the end of the banquet Barlow presented the 2012 season highlight video.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future