2015 Camps

Pecotic Earns Second Ivy League Player of the Year Honor

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 05/03/2012
Print RSS
Article Image
Matija Pecotic is the Ivy League Player of the Year for the second straight campaign.
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

PRINCETON -- For the second straight year, Matija Pecotic is the Ivy League Player of the Year in men's tennis.

Pecotic is the first Princeton player to be named Ivy Player of the Year twice and the fifth Ivy Leaguer to do so, with the most recent being Yale's Brandon Wai in 2006 and 2007. Last year, Pecotic joined Reed Cordish '96 in 1996, Judson Williams '02 in 2002, and Peter Capkovic '09 in 2008.

Pecotic has won 15 straight Ivy League matches, going undefeated in each of the last two seasons. This season, Pecotic won all seven Ivy matches in straight sets. His success earned him an Intercollegiate Tennis Association national ranking of No. 114 in the most recent poll, released April 24, and a berth in the NCAA singles championship at the end of the month.

Pecotic, a junior, will have the chance in 2013 to become the first player since the award began in 1987 to be a three-time Ivy League Player of the Year honoree. In addition to the first-team All-Ivy League singles honor in 2011 and 2012, Pecotic was a second-team All-Ivy singles honoree as a freshman in 2010.

Matt Siow and Matt Spindler, both juniors, were named second-team All-Ivy League in doubles. It is the first All-Ivy League honor for either player in the duo, which was ranked 69th in the nation in the most recent ITA poll.

All-Ivy League Men's Tennis 2012

Player of the Year
Matija Pecotic, Princeton (Jr., Sliema, Malta)

Rookie of the Year
*Winston Lin, Columbia (Fr., Williamsville, N.Y.)

First Team All-Ivy

*Winston Lin, Columbia (Fr., Williamsville, N.Y.)
Haig Schneiderman, Columbia (Sr., New York)
*Jonathan Pearlman, Harvard (Sr., Palm Beach, Fla.)
*Matija Pecotic, Princeton (Jr., Sliema, Malta)
Daniel Hoffman, Yale (Jr., Atherton, Calif.)
*John Huang, Yale (Jr., Irvine, Calif.)

*Ashok Narayana, Columbia (Fr., Houston, Texas)
*Max Schnur, Columbia (Fr., Richmond, Va.)
Alistar Felton, Harvard (Sr., Somerset, England)
Casey MacMaster, Harvard (So., Fort Collins, Colo.)
*Daniel Hoffman, Yale (Jr., Atherton, Calif.)
*Marc Powers, Yale (Jr., Stamford, Conn.)

Second Team All-Ivy

Soufiane Azargui, Brown (So., Burlington, Ontario, Canada)
William Spector, Brown (Fr., Weston, Mass.)
Venkat Iyler, Cornell (So., Bethesda, Md.)
Sam Fleck, Cornell (Fr., Cambridge, United Kingdom)
Denis Nguyen, Harvard (Fr., Anaheim, Calif.)
Jeremy Court, Penn (Fr., New Rochelle, N.Y.)

Soufiane Azargui, Brown (So., Burlington, Ontario, Canada)
Brandon Burke, Brown (So., Kingston, Jamaica)
Michel Laser, Dartmouth (Sr., Glencoe, Ill.)
Alex de Chatellus, Dartmouth (Jr., Tiburon, Calif.)
Matt Siow, Princeton (Jr., Irvine, Calif.)
Matt Spindler, Princeton (Jr., Sacramento, Calif.)

* - Unanimous Selection







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future