2015 Camps

Frey Falls In EIWA Final, Will Join Kolodzik At NCAA Championships

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 03/04/2012
Print RSS
Article Image
Garrett Frey fell 7-3 in the 125-pound EIWA final.
Courtesy: Beverly Schaefer


Cornell senior Frank Perrelli earned his second straight EIWA title at 125 by recording a 7-4 decision over Princeton junior Garrett Frey to open the championship round of the EIWA finals, held this weekend at Jadwin Gym.

Frey reached the championship final via technicall fall and a pair of pins on Saturday, but he was unable to generate any offense in the final against Perrelli. Ranked seventh nationally, Perrelli quieted the Princeton crowd quickly with a first-period takedown. He rode for more than a minute before Frey got an escape.

Frey started on top in the second period, but Perrelli scored a reversal to build the lead to 4-1. Frey was able to get an escape, but Perrelli fought off every takedown attempt and carried the 4-2 lead into the third.

Starting the third in the down position, Frey scored an escape to get within one point and found himself in a scramble fighting for a needed takedown. Perrelli won the scramble to clinch the match and win the title by a 7-3 score.

"Perrelli wrestled well," head coach Chris Ayres said. "I asked Garrett afterwards what he thought, and he didn't think he did enough. That reversal hurt, and not being able to get out quickly in the first. But it's OK. He wrestled very well this weekend, and I think he is a dangerous opponent for anybody at NCAAs."

Despite the loss, Frey has earned another ticket to the NCAA Championships, which will take place in two weeks in St. Louis. Frey will join teammate Daniel Kolodzik, who earned a berth with a fourth-place finish at 157.

Kolodzik opened his day in the EIWA semi-consolations with a showdown against Columbia's Jake O'Hara. The two didn't meet in the regular season because of an illness that kept Kolodzik out of the match. O'Hara took control early and held a lead going into the third, but Kolodzik showed the fight that earned him first-team All-Ivy League honors. He turned O'Hara to grab the lead and added a riding time point to take the 7-4 win.

That sent Kolodzik into the third-place match against American's Ganbayar Sanjaa, who is ranked third in the NCAA Coaches Panel rankings. Sanjaa hit a huge move early, throwing Kolodzik for a five-point lead. The Tiger senior avoided the fall and scored an escape, but Sanjaa was able to ward off any further takedown attempts. The American standout added another takedown and finished the match with an 8-3 win.

Kolodzik had already clinched a berth at NCAAs with his quarterfinal win Friday, so he will be making his debut at the national championships during his final season.

Princeton placed four wrestlers at the championships. Junior Zach Bintliff scored a 9-3 win over Andrew Murano of Franklin & Marshall to place seventh at 149; it was one spot higher than he finished in the 141-pound bracket last year. Freshman Chris Perez finished eighth at 133, though he needed to default due to an injury he re-aggravated in his final match Saturday.

Though neither Bintliff or Perez earned an automatic bid to NCAAs, Princeton is hopeful to get a third wrestler to St. Louis. Sophomore Adam Krop also re-aggravated an injury during a quarterfinal loss to eventual 141-pound champion Matt Mariacher, so he needed to injury default before the finals. Krop could qualify for one of the at-large bids, which will be handed out by the NCAA later this week.

Cornell ended up winning the team title by 2.5 points in a thrilling team competition that came down to overtime of the 285-pound final. Cornell won the title when American's top-ranked Ryan Flores scored a takedown of reigning NCAA champion Zach Rey to complete a wild scramble.

The 2013 EIWA Championships are scheduled to be held at nearby Rutgers University.


125 – #1 Frank Perrelli (Cornell) d. #2 Garrett Frey (Princeton) 7-3
133 – #2 Bryan Ortenzio (Penn) d. #4 Aaron Kalil (Navy) 2-1
141 – #5 Matt Mariacher (American) d. Michael Nevinger (Cornell) 6-4
149 – #6 Shane Walsh (Lehigh) d. #8 Kevin Tao (American) 4-0
157 – #1 Kyle Dake (Cornell) d. #3 Walter Peppelman (Harvard) 3-0
165 – #1 Brandon Hatchett (Lehigh) #2 Scott Winston (Harvard) 4-2, SV
174 – Dave Foxen (Brown) d. #4 Oscar Huntley (Navy) 3-2
184 – #2 Robert Hamlin (Lehigh) d. #1 Steve Bosak (Cornell) 3-2
197 – #1 Cam Simaz (Cornell) d. Micah Burak (Penn) 7-4
285 – #1 Ryan Flores (American) d. Zach Rey (Lehigh) 3-1, SV

SHERIDAN AWARD (career team points): Cam Simaz, Cornell
FLETCHER AWARD (most pins in least time): Ryan Flores, American
EIWA COACH OF THE YEAR: Pat Santoro, Lehigh
COACHES TROPHY (top wrestler): Cam Simaz, Cornell


1) Cornell, 151.5
2) Lehigh, 149
3) American, 103
4) Penn, 94.5
5) Navy, 85
6) Columbia, 78.5
7) Rutgers, 74.5
8) Harvard, 59
9) Army, 57.5
10) Brown, 48
11) Princeton, 44
12) Franklin & Marshall, 29
13) Bucknell, 28.5
14) Sacred Heart, 6







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future