2015 Camps

Sydney Johnson Named Finalist for Trio of Coaching Awards

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 03/23/2011
Print RSS
Article Image
Sydney Johnson is a finalist for a trio of national coaching awards presented by CollegeInsider.com.
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Princeton men's basketball head coach Sydney Johnson has been named as one of 16 national finalists for three national awards presented by CollegeInsider.com, including the Hugh Durham Award, which is presented to the top national coach at a mid-major program, the Ben Jobe Award, which is presented to the top minority coach, and the Skip Prosser Award, which honors those who achieve success on the basketball court while displaying moral integrity off the court. The winners of all three awards will be announced at the Final Four on April 1.

Johnson was recognized in 2009 and 2010 as the Ivy League Coach of the Year by CollegeInsider.com. He is accompanied as a finalist for the Durham Award by Tommy Amaker (Harvard), Randy Bennett (St. Mary's), Rick Byrd (Belmont), Ed Cooley (Fairfield), Cliff Ellis (Coastal Carolina), Jim Ferry (Long Island), B.J. Hill (Northern Colorado), Rob Jeter (Milwaukee), Greg Kampe (Oakland), Jim Larranaga (George Mason), Cuonzo Martin (Missouri State), Dave Paulsen (Bucknell), Clifford Reed (Bethune-Cookman), Brad Stevens (Butler), and Blaine Taylor (Old Dominion).

Durham coached at Florida State, Georgia and Jacksonville for 37 seasons from 1966-2005 and is the and only coach in the history of NCAA Division I basketball to lead two schools to the NCAA Final Four for the first and only time in each school's history (Florida State in 1972 and Georgia in 1983).

Jobe coached at six Historically Black Colleges and Universities, a career that included a 1993 NCAA Tournament upset of Georgia Tech by his Southern University team. The other finalists for the Jobe Award are Amaker, Cooley, Mike Davis (UAB), Anthony Grant (Alabama), Leonard Hamilton (Florida State), Tony Harvey (Texas Southern), Jeff Jackson (Furman), Mike Jarvis (Florida Atlantic), Jeter, Martin, Reed, Dave Simmons (McNeese State), Shaka Smart (VCU), Cliff Warren (Jacksonville), and Gary Waters (Cleveland State).

Prosser coached at Loyola, Xavier and Wake Forest for 14 seasons before his passing in 2007. Johnson is accompanied on the finalist list for the Prosser Award by Murry Bartow (East Tennessee State), Byrd, Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh), John Dunne (St. Peter's), Jim Engles (NJIT), Hill, Jeter, Greg Lansing (Indiana State), Larranaga, Chris Mack (Xavier), Mike Sutton (Tennessee Tech), Stevens, Taylor, Wayne Tinkle (Montana), and Waters.

Johnson led the Tigers back to an Ivy League title and the NCAA Tournament this season for the first time since 2004, compiling a 25-7 record overall.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future