2015 Camps
Article Image
Jason Garrett, the 1988 Ivy League Player of the Year, earned two Super Bowl rings with the Dallas Cowboys.
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Princeton In The Pros

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 08/23/2010
Print RSS

From the earliest days of the pro game through today’s National Football League, Princeton has always been well-represented in professional football. And while Princeton is better known for placing its graduates in a variety of other professional careers, the NFL still looks at the best of the Orange and Black.

That legacy was enhanced over the last your years. In 2012, Mike Catapano was drafted with the first pick in the seventh round by the Kansas City Chiefs. Catapano was coming off a season when he became Princeton's seventh player to win the Bushnell Cup; he was the Ivy League's second Defensive Player of the Year.

One year later, Caraun Reid became Princeton's highest draft pick of the modern draft era (since 1970) when he was picked in the seventh round by the Detroit Lions. Reid scored a touchdown during his 2015 season on Monday Night Football.

Reid's distinction as the highest pick of the modern era lasted two seasons. Seth DeValve was chosen in the fourth round of the 2016 draft (Pick #138) by the Cleveland Browns after turning several heads at his impressive Pro Day.

Over the last 15 years, seven Princeton players (DL, Mike Catapano, QB Jeff Terrell, LBs Zak Keasey and Justin Stull, DB Jay McCareins, TE Jon Dekker and OL Ben Brielmaier) signed NFL contracts, while two others were invited to mini-camps (QB Matt Verbit and DB Brandon Mueller).

Princeton alumni of the mid-1890s had a hand in the first professional game played in Latrobe, Pa., in 1895. Since then 29 Tiger players have seen action in or been drafted by the professional ranks (see list below), including alums Keith Elias and Jason Garrett and, most recently, Keasey, who played for both the Washington Redskins and the San Francisco 49ers.

Garrett, the 1988 Ivy League Player of the Year while a quarterback at Princeton, was a long-time member of the Dallas Cowboys, where he earned two Super Bowl rings. He also earned NFL Player of the Week honors after a Thanksgiving 1994 game in which he directed the Cowboys to a comeback win over Green Bay. He saw considerable action his last two years in Dallas when Hall of Fame starter Troy Aikman was hurt, and he signed a free agent contract with the Giants prior to the 2000 season, when he returned to the Super Bowl with his new team. Garrett is now the head coach in Dallas; he was named interim coach during the 2010 season, then earned the full-time job after leading the team to five late-season wins. Jason's brother John, another former Princeton standout, also coaches in the National Football League.

Princeton head coach Bob Surace certainly knows what it takes to play at the professional level. Prior to his tenure at Princeton, he spent eight seasons as an assistant coach with the Cincinnati Bengals; seven of those seasons were with former NFL Coach of the Year Marvin Lewis. Surace, who played with the Garrett brothers and was part of the 1989 Ivy League championship team, helped Cincinnati to a pair of playoff appearances and the 2009 AFC North title.


Carl Barisich ’73
Bob Beattie ’25
Hank Bjorklund ’72
Ben Brielmaier ’06
Michael Carr ’95
Mike Catapano '13
Karl Chandler ’74
Cris Crissy ’81
Jon Dekker ’06
Brad Dinsmore ’25
Ted Drews ’25
Eric Drieband ’86
Keith Elias ’94
Pat Flaherty ’23
Jason Garrett ’89
John Garrett ’88
Judd Garrett ’90
Charlie Gogolak ’66
Bob Hews ’70
Bob Holly ’82
Albert “Red” Howard ’25
Cosmo Iacavazzi ’65
Zak Keasey ’05
Stas´  Maliszewski ’66
Keith Mauney ’70
Tim McCann ’69
Jay McCareins ’06
Frank McPhee ’53
Dennis Norman ’01
Chip Nuzzo ’87
Chisom Opara ‘03
Frank Perantoni ’46
Bob Perina ’43
John Raveche ’01
Caraun Reid '13
Justin Stull ’06
Jeff Terrell ’07
Ross Tucker ’01
Bill Winters ’76


Name Year Round Pick Team
Seth DeValve 2016 4 138 Cleveland Browns
Caraun Reid 2014 5 158 Detroit Lions
Mike Catapano 2013 7 207 Kansas City Chiefs
Dennis Norman 2001 7 222 Seattle Seahawks
Judd Garrett 1990 12 327 Philadelphia Eagles
Jon Schultheis 1983 7 182 Philadelphia Eagles
Bob Holly 1982 11 291 Washington Redskins
Cris Crissy 1981 12 323 New England Patriots
Carl Barisich 1973 11 281 Cleveland Browns
Hank Bjorklund 1972 12 299 New York Jets
Bob Hews 1970 6 156 Kansas City Chiefs
Keith Mauney 1970 15 376 Atlanta Falcons
Charlie Gogolak 1966 1 6 Washington Redskins
Cosmo Iacovazzi 1965 20 275 Minnesota Vikings
Frank McPhee 1953 13 147 Chicago Cardinals






Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future