2015 Camps
Article Image
Tom Schreiber
Courtesy: Beverly Schaefer

Schreiber Again Wins MacLaughlin Award As Nation's Top Midfielder

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 05/23/2014
Print RSS

The USILA first presented the Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin Jr. Award for the nation's top midfielder back in 1973. The first winner was Doug Schreiber, who played at Maryland.

Fast forwarding 41 years, the most recent winner of the award is Tom Schreiber, Doug's son and a Princeton senior, who the USILA announced earned the MacLaughlin Award for 2014.

Tom Schreiber was the 2013 winner as well, making him just the sixth player - and second Princetonian after Josh SIms - to win it twice.

In addition to the MacLaughlin Award, the USILA handed out all of its major awards this morning. The Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award for the nation's outstanding player went to Lyle Thompson of Albany.

Schreiber had 30 goals and 21 assists this year while leading Princeton in scoring for the fourth straight season. Schreiber was named a USILA first-team All-America for the third straight year.

The other two-time winners of the MacLaughlin Award besides Schreiber and Sims are Frank Urso from Maryland (1974, 76), Delverne Dressel of Johns Hopkins (1984, 85), Gary Gait of Syracuse (1988, 89) and Kyle Harrison of Johns Hopkins (2005, 06).

The 2014 USILA Special Award winners:

Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin, JR. Award Outstanding Midfielder
Tom Schreiber , Princeton University
LT. COL. J.I.(Jack) Turnbull Award Outstanding Attackman
Lyle Thompson, University at Albany
Ensign C. Markland Kelly, JR. Award Outstanding Goalie
Niko Amato, University of Maryland
William C. Schmeisser Award Outstanding Defensive Player
Joe Fletcher, Loyola University
Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award: Outstanding Player
Lyle Thompson, University at Albany







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future