2015 Camps
Article Image
Tom Schreiber
Courtesy: Beverly Schaefer

Schreiber Named A Tewaaraton Trophy Finalist For The Second Straight Year

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 05/08/2014
Print RSS

Tom Schreiber has been named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Trophy - the top individual honor in lacrosse - for the second straight year.

Schreiber is joined by Loyola defenseman Joe Fletcher, Albany attackmen Lyle Thompson and Miles Thompson and Duke attackman Jordan Wolf as the five finalists for the award. The winner will be announced May 29.

A four-time first-team All-Ivy League selection, Schreiber holds the Princeton records for goals, assists and points in a career for a midfielder. He led Princeton in scoring all four of his seasons and is the only player in program history with at least 100 career goals and 90 career assists and the only player in program history with three seasons of at least 20 goals and 20 assists.

As a senior, Schreiber led Princeton with 30 goals and 51 points and was second on the team in assists with 21. He led the Ivy League in points per game and was third in goals per game and assists per game.

Schreiber was the No. 1 pick in the Major League Lacrosse draft, and he will be starting his professional career with the Ohio Machine. He is also a two-time first-team All-America, with the 2014 team yet to be announced.

In addition to Schreiber, here are the bios of the other four finalists:

Joe Fletcher, the 2014 Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year, leads all close defenders nationally in ground balls (76) and ground balls per game (4.75). His 28 caused turnovers also rank second on a Loyola squad that concluded the regular season atop the USILA Coaches Poll. The senior defenseman from Syracuse, N.Y., was named to the All-Patriot League First Team and the Patriot League All-Tournament Team. Earlier this year, Fletcher was the lone collegiate player selected to the U.S. Men’s National Team 30-man roster for this summer’s FIL World Championship.
Jordan Wolf, the ACC Offensive Player of the Year, led the conference with 51 goals and 80 points, good for second and third nationally, respectively. A senior attackman from Wynnewood, Pa., Wolf extended his nation’s best point scoring streak to 57 games and is second among active players with 281 career points. Wolf earned his fourth All-ACC selection, becoming the only Duke player to achieve that feat, and led the Blue Devils in scoring for a third consecutive season en route to his team earning the number one seed in the NCAA Tournament.
A finalist for the second consecutive year, Albany attackman Lyle Thompson leads the nation with 69 assists and 114 points. The junior from Onondaga Nation, N.Y., is currently tied with Steve Marohl (1992) for the single-season NCAA Division I points record, and with one point in Saturday’s NCAA Tournament first round game against Loyola would become the all-time leader. He earned his second consecutive America East Player of the Year nod, while also being named first-team All-America East and America East All-Tournament Team.
Albany attackman Miles Thompson ranks first in the nation with 74 goals and second nationally with 108 points. Miles is tops among active players with 282 career points and also holds the longest active goal-scoring streak at 30 games. The senior from Onondaga Nation, N.Y., was named first-team All-America East and America East Tournament MVP, setting conference tournament records with eight goals and 22 points. His 74 goals this season trail only Yale’s Jon Reese (82, 1990) for the all-time NCAA single-season record, and his 108 points this season ranks fourth all-time.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future