2015 Camps
Article Image
Seniors Nathan Mathabane and Russell Dinkins
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Pair of Men's Track & Field Student-Athletes Win Spirit of Princeton Award

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 05/01/2013
Print RSS

PRINCETON, N.J. (5/1/13) - Russell Dinkins and Nathan Mathabane of the Princeton men's track & field team have been selected as two of nine winners of the 2013 Spirit of Princeton Award. The award recognizes students who have demonstrated a strong commitment to the undergraduate experience through dedicated efforts with student organizations, athletics, community service, religious life, residential life and the arts.

Dinkins is a sociology major from Philadelphia, Pa. Over the course of his Princeton career, he has run track, danced with diSiac and the HighSteppers and sung in Umqombothi. He is a Community Action leader and was an RCA for the Freshman Scholars Institute last summer. Dinkins noted that he particularly enjoyed meeting underclassmen through his activities. He is a three-time NCAA All-American athlete in track and field, has four individual Ivy League titles and holds two individual Princeton records in addition to three Ivy League relay records. In March, Dinkins was part of the distance medley relay team that won the NCAA Championship. 

This summer, Dinkins will be working on an entrepreneurial project as part of the eLab program. He is also considering post-collegiate running.

Mathabane is a geosciences major from Portland, Ore. An RCA in Rockefeller College and a three-season athlete in cross country and track and field, he has also worked at Murray-Dodge and as a supervisor for intramural sports. Mathabane is a columnist and former associate opinion editor for The Daily Princetonian.  On Saturday, he and his relay team broke the Princeton record in the 4x800m relay at the Penn Relays. After graduation, Mathabane will pursue an M.A. in geology at the University of Oregon.

Past men's track & field athletes who have won this award include: Eric Plummer in 2010, Justin Reed in 2005 and Cam Atkinson in 2002.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future