2015 Camps
Article Image
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Cross Country Yearly Team Honors and Captains Announced

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 12/11/2012
Print RSS

PRINCETON, N.J. (12/11/12) - The Princeton men's and women's cross country teams held its annual banquet on Thursday, Dec. 6 at Charter Club to celebrate its success from the 2012 season.

The Most Improved Runner Awards were presented to sophomore Emily de La Bruyere and senior Michael Franklin.

Maria Seykora and Sam Berger were honored with the Freshman Rosengarten Cross Country Trophy. It is presented awarded annually to that freshman member of the quad who in sportsmanship, improvement and performance has contributed most to the sport.

Senior Greta Feldman of the women's team and junior Chris Bendtsen of the men's squad were awarded the Varsity Rosengarten Cross Country Trophy. Awarded annually, it is given to that member of the team who in sportsmanship, improvement and performance has contributed most to the sport.

Captains for the 2012 season were also announced. Guiding the women's team will be de La Bruyere, while Bendtsen will remain at captain of the men's team and will be joined by classmate Alejandro Arroyo Yamin.

The men's team recorded the best NCAA finish in program history taking 11th at the NCAA Championships after receiving an at-large bid. The team won its third consecutive Heps title and sixth in the last seven years. Bendtsen and Arroyo Yamin went 1-2 and were named first-team All-Ivy League along with juniors Tyler Udland and Jonathan Vitez. Sophomores Eddie Owens and Matt McDonald received second-team honors. The Tigers finished third at the Mid-Atlantic Regional with Bendsten, Arroyo Yamin, Franklin and junior Tyler Udland earning All-Region honors.

The women's team rebounded from a disappointing 2011 Heps finish to runner-up in 2012. Feldman, senior Abby Levene and sophomore Jackie Nicholas all earned second-team All-Ivy honors. The Tigers went on to finish fourth at the Mid-Atlantic Regional with Feldman, de La Bruyere and Nicholas capturing All-Region honors. Feldman qualified individually for the NCAA Championships, keeping the Princeton streak of competing in the championship alive at 12 years.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future