2015 Camps

Six Tigers Reach Finals at Olympic Team Trials for Track & Field

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 06/25/2012
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

It's been an exciting week for Princeton track & field at the 2012 US Olympic Trials. Let's recap what's gone on in the last five days, as we hit a two-day rest period before the final four days.

Liz Costello '10 kicked things off in the women's 10,000 on Friday, June 22. Costello finished 16th in the final with a time of 32:53.31. Amy Hastings won the race at 31:58.36 and has made the Olympic team, along with Lisa Uhl, who was fourth, and Janet Bawcom, who was seventh. Both have the Olympic A standard.

On Saturday both Tora Harris '02 and Justin Frick '10 qualified for the finals of the men's high jump. Frick was taken off the pending list and declared just the day before. Frick and Harris finished seventh and eighth, respectively, as both cleared 2.18. Ten of the top 13 advancing to the final had a high mark of 2.18.

Like Frick, Carrie Dimoff '06 came off the pending list and ran in the qualifying round of the women's steeplechase and reached the final - along with Ashley Higginson '11. Higginson ran a PR in the race of 9:45.21 to finish third in heat 2 and fourth overall. After sitting second, Higginson took the lead with 3.5 laps to go but dropped back to second with a lap to go at 8:28 on the clock. She just missed the Olympic A standard of 9:43. Dimoff was fifth in the same heat as Higginson and was eighth overall, crossing the line at 9:49.03. The pair will race for a spot on the Olympic team on Friday, June 29 at 4:45 p.m. (local time).

Just one event later, Donn Cabral '12 qualified for the final of the men's steeplechase. Cabral ran behind the top five the entire race and was fifth with one lap to go. He pushed ahead of three others and moved into second in the last 50 meters. He finished second in the heat and seventh overall with a of time was 8:30.64. The final is scheduled for Thursday, June 28 at 6:30 p.m. (local time). No one ran the A standard in the qualifying rounds, but six entered the meet with the standard. In order of best time they are: William Nelson, Benjamin Bruce, Cabral, Daniel Huling, Kyle Alcorn and Evan Jager. Their times today are as follows: Nelson 8:35.22, Bruce 8:29.11, Cabral 8:30.64, Huling 8:29.00, Alcorn 8:29.27, Jager 8:30.60.

Capping of Monday night was the final of the high jump. Harris couldn't clear 2.20 on his three attempts and finished ninth overall. Frick cleared 2.20 on his second attempt. After missing his first attempt at 2.25, he made it on his second, a new PR. Frick would not be able to clear 2.28 on his three atempts and finished tied for fifth in the finals. Making the Olympic team with the A standard of 2.31 are Jamie Nieto, Erik Kynard Jr. and Jesse Williams who all reached 2.28 in the final but had marks of 2.31 or better this year.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
M. Track & Field
vs. Ivy League Heptagonal Championships
- All Day
M. Track & Field
vs. IC4A Championships
- All Day
M. Track & Field
at NCAA Regional
- All Day
M. Track & Field
at NCAA Championships
- All Day