2015 Camps

16-Time Ivy Champ Head Coach Susan Teeter Elected President Of CSCAA

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 07/24/2014
Print RSS
Article Image
Susan Teeter will serve as the CSCAA president for the next two years.
Courtesy: Beverly Schaefer

Susan Teeter, winner of 16 Ivy League championships and more than 200 dual victories, has added a new line to her already impressive résumé. While competing for another Ivy title this coming year, she will also begin a two-year term as the president of the College Swimming Coaches Association of America.

Teeter, who will enter her 31st season as the head coach at Princeton this fall, was elected president during the most recent CSCAA convention.

“I am humbled and honored to be elected the President-elect of College Swimming Coaches by my peers,” Teeter said. “I am looking forward to continuing to give back to a sport that I love and has given me so much. It will be great to represent Princeton and work with all three NCAA divisions in making college swimming and diving stronger and better. 

“With all the press of the potential changes in the NCAA and NCAA rules, it's important that college swimming be a leader in showcasing how student-athletes impact our universities and our communities,” she added.

Teeter, who has led Princeton to 11 Ivy League championships over the last 15 years, was the recipient of the 2010-11 Speedo CSCAA Lifetime Achievement Award. While she is known best for her brilliant career in Orange and Black, she has served the sport both nationally and internationally.

Teeter spent the summer of 2000 serving on the U.S. coaching staff at the Summer Olympics in Sydney and the summer of 1996 as the head manager of the Olympic team in Atlanta. In all, she has been on the staff of nine international swim teams. She now serves as a special consultant to Speedo USA for all Olympic and World Championships.

In 1988 she received the Master Coach Award from the College Swimming Coaches Association for her contributions to collegiate swimming, and she earned an American Swimming Coaches Award of Excellence four straight years from 2006 through 2009.

“Every day when you open the sports pages, we read about athletes who have made mistakes and tarnished their sports,” Teeter said. “I hope to help our current president, Bill Wadley of Ohio State, and Executive Director of College Swimming Joel Shinofield to showcase our swimming & diving current athletes and alumni.

“We want everyone to know the great things swimmers and divers do once they graduate and how they help their communities and make their universities proud,” she said.

The CSCAA is the oldest professional association of college coaches in the country and serves both swimming and diving coaches.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future